Homemade Ice Cream

A few weeks ago my brother found me a Cuisinart ice cream maker from Freecycle. It was practically new, and FREE! That’s my kind of deal :) I’ve been wanting to try homemade ice cream for a while, so when I found the ice cream maker sitting on my bed when I got home that day, I was pretty excited.

The biggest reason I wanted to try making ice cream was because I kept seeing recipes for dairy-free ice cream on Pinterest. Now that I don’t have to be as strict on my dairy intake because I’m Lyme free, it’s not quite as important, but I still wanted to try it since it would be a healthier version of ice cream without using whole milk and heavy cream.

Earlier this week, my Gramma was staying with us, and since she has to eat lactose-free I decided it was a perfect chance to try my little Cuisinart out. I used this recipe with only four (healthy) ingredients, and it came out DELICIOUS.

My dad, who is a die-hard Turkey Hill ice cream fan, told me that it was really good even if it was healthy.  Winner!

I’m thinking I see a Sunday night tradition in the future… :)

healthy ice cream

(photo from http://chocolatecoveredkatie.com/2011/12/07/four-ingredient-ice-cream/)

2 thoughts on “Homemade Ice Cream

  1. I’m jealous! I have been wanting to try a home made ice cream for a while but don’t have an ice cream machine. Pinterest has some neat ice cream recipes. Is the Cuisinart hard to use?

    1. It’s actually super easy! All you do is pour the ingredients in after freezing the bowl part and it basically just churns until it’s ice cream consistency. You can also find a lot of recipes on Pinterest that don’t require an ice cream machine too. Maybe I’ll bring it at Christmas and you can try it :)

Leave a Reply

