Cooking Ventures

In the three months we’ve been married so far, one of my favorite things to do is still to don my little red apron and work in my little redly (I think I just made up a word) decorated kitchen, trying new recipes. I still even enjoy doing dishes, believe it or not! And my loving and patient husband has been so graciously trying everything I make. May I call myself successful if he liked both of the vegetarian meals I made this week? :)

But it’s taken a little bit to get used to the old oven in our apartment. Electric burners are not too hard to adjust to, but I didn’t get away without a few burnt things to add to my “newlywed stories”. One happened to be on our one month anniversary, when I had gone all out on making dinner special for my hubby. I’d even put out a white tablecloth and candles and set the table to be so romantic! And as the crowning touch of our anniversary dinner, I’d worked hard to put together an apple crisp for dessert. I knew it was one of J’s favorites, so I peeled all the apples and put it all together and had it in the oven when he got home so he wouldn’t know. I could picture the delight and surprise on his face when I pulled it out of the oven after dinner.

But, unfortunately, there was surprise but not delight….and there were tears on MY face when we got done with dinner. Everything had been wonderful and romantic, and just as we were finishing, I checked on the apple crisp. It was done, so I shut the oven door and turned it off to keep warm until we were ready for dessert.

Or so I thought.

I didn’t know that this knob, unlike the other knobs for the burners, didn’t click off when you turned it all the way around. Unknowingly, I had turned the knob to “broil” instead of “off.” You can probably already guess what happened. A few minutes later, I started smelling a burnt smell. I thought it was rather odd, since the oven was supposed to be cooling down and no longer cooking. I jumped up to check it and when I opened the oven door, I saw a blackened apple crisp with the top literally in flames. I pulled it out, blew out the little flames, and promptly burst into tears.

My wonderful hubby just hugged me and told me it was all right and how happy he was that I’d thought to make it for him. After all the tears and a few more hugs, we managed to scoop the burnt top off and salvage some of the apple crisp in the bottom of the dish.  It tasted almost perfect with a little vanilla ice cream to mask the still lingering slightly burnt taste.

(I was able to laugh as I told this story later…and my hubby likes to tell the story as coming out of the oven with “six foot flames”….it really wasn’t that bad. Just slightly traumatic to my pride and romantic hopes.)

I’m happy to say that I’ve not turned the knob to “broil” accidentally since.   My brain has sufficiently been retrained to turn the knob back around to “off” now. And I have also made apple crisp successfully since then….in the crockpot. :)

A few of the other recipes I’ve been trying successfully lately are below. Feel free to check them out! Do you have any “newlywed stories” about cooking to share?

Feta and Chive Sour Cream Scones 

Vegetarian “Meatballs”  (I made these for meatball hoagies instead of serving with pasta)

Spicy Italian Stuffed Zucchini

Honey Whole Wheat English Muffin Bread 

Homemade Refried Beans

Restaurant Style Salsa

Best Ever Chocolate Oatmeal No Bake Bars 



One thought on “Cooking Ventures

  1. Aw you’re so cute! I’ve had my share of cooking disasters too. Usually ends with the smoke detector going off and rushing to open all of our windows. :)

Leave a Reply

